“A new road is an old friend…

…fill it up again.”

Less than two weeks now – I will be in my van, driving over the Sierras, out into the Great Basin, and on to the four corners! highlights for this trip: I get to drive east across Nevada on a new road, Hwy 375, also known as the Extraterrestrial Highway, also known by the locals as the real Loneliest Road in America. I sure am a big fan of Hwy 50, but any road that promises even more solitude and massive space is high on my priority list. I will ramble over to Page AZ where there is another sober youth conference (two down, three to go before Sept). I have a show in Sedona and possibly Flagstaff, then I am determined to get up to Monument Valley. I’m hoping to drive south down the east side of AZ, another road I haven’t taken yet, and see my Tucson homies. I had planned a grand swing through NM, CO, and UT, but the fundage is still stupidly low and I will be there in August anyway. I can’t wait. I. Love. The. Desert. On my way home I will pass through Yuma, that town for the passers through, and see the folks in So Cal again on my way home.

This is a relatively short circle, but I have only done it on tour with a tighter schedule. (“Tighter schedule” is quite relative). This time I get to bang around by myself. The Girl’s program I went to introduced me to the desert, and for that I am eternally grateful. I will be sure to keep the pictures coming, since I now have a decently intelligent phone, although we’ll see about the service out there. Every summer I get to do a little bit of road dogging, I’m so glad I don’t have to miss a season.

Hooray!

j

2 thoughts on ““A new road is an old friend…

  1. Joe,
    Good to hear you’re coming to Tucson! Are you just visiting or will you be singing anywhere? If you’re singing, love to help spread the word.
    All the best,
    Nick

  2. Joe, Your blog is rich in wisdom and insight. I never read your writing before, only knowing your music, and I find the prose to be as rich as the content. Thank you for sharing this part of your journey with us on-line.

Leave a Reply

